Annual Meeting at the University of Vienna, July 14-16, 2021


The Society for the Study of the History of Analytical Philosophy is an international organization aimed at promoting discussion in all areas of scholarship concerning the development of philosophical logic, philosophy of language, the philosophy of mind, metaphysics, the philosophy of science and epistemology. It welcomes scholars interested in the many ways in which the disciplines were influenced by thinkers such as Bolzano, Brentano and his school, Husserl, Frege, Russell, Wittgenstein, the Vienna Circle, American Pragmatism, Carnap, Quine, Tarski and the Polish school, for instance, but also seeks to promote work engaging with lesser known figures and trends.

SSHAP contributes sessions at the meeting of the Central and Pacific divisions of the American Philosophical Associations. Call for Papers and Symposia are published on the website and main distribution lists. Membership is open to all academic philosophers and is free. In order to apply for membership, simply join online.


SSHAP was founded in 2009 upon the initiative of Sandra Lapointe. The founding board members were Sandra Lapointe (President), Amie Thomasson (Vice President), Mathieu Marion (Treasurer) and Richard Zach (Secretary).

The founding of the society was announced on September 1, 2009. SSHAP held its first meeting in the group sessions at the 2010 meeting of the Central Division of the APA in Chicago on February 18, 2010, with talks by Peter Hylton, Mark Textor, and Michael Detlefsen.

That year, the Journal for the History of Analytical Philosophy was also founded. JHAP opened submissions on December 13, 2010. The founding editorial board consisted of Juliet Floyd, Greg Frost-Arnold, Mirja Hartimo (reviews editor), Ryan Hickerson, Sandra Lapointe, Douglas Patterson, Chris Pincock, Mark Textor (editor-in-chief), and Richard Zach.